Big Ten Football Tickets - Big 10 Football Tickets at Razorgator

Big Ten Football Tickets

Are you ready for some Big Ten football? We are! Find the best selection of 2015 Big Ten football tickets on sale today. No matter where you want to sit — between the end zones and the 50-yard line — count on us to put you in the best seats in the house at every Big Ten football stadium, including Ohio Stadium, Michigan Stadium, Camp Randall Stadium, Memorial Stadium and more! From the Big Ten football opening kick off to the biggest Big Ten rivalry games, Big Ten football fans will score great Big Ten football tickets all season long from Razorgator.

2015 Big Ten Football - A Closer Look

2013 Season

When it comes to college football conferences, depending on where you are in the country, one or two organizations will come immediately to mind… one of those being the Intercollegiate Conference of Faculty Representative – the Big Ten Conference.
… more

When it formed in 1896 as the Western Conference, the participating schools included Chicago, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin. In 1899, Indiana and Iowa joined, creating the Big Nine. Once Ohio State joined in 1912, the Big Ten was set, and would remain so until after World War II, when one of the founding member schools, the University of Chicago, would choose to de-emphasize athletics, ultimately being reclassified as an NCAA Division III institution.

To replace Chicago, in 1949, Michigan State joined the Big Ten, giving the Conference a lineup of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue, and Wisconsin. This grouping would remain stable until 1990, when Penn State came on board. Later, during the conference realignments in the early 21st Century, officials from the Big Ten Conference and from the University of Notre Dame briefly conducted negotiations, but these talks ultimately went nowhere. On the other hand, the University of Nebraska at Lincoln left the Big 12 for the Big Ten, giving the conference its 12th member, its “Legends” and “Leaders” divisions, and a Big Ten Football Championship game.

Some of the greatest rivalries in all of college football can be found in the Big Ten: Michigan Wolverines vs. Michigan State Spartans (the Paul Bunyan Trophy), Michigan Wolverines vs. Minnesota Golden Gophers (the Little Brown Jug), Indiana Hoosiers vs. Illinois Fighting Illini, Indiana Hoosiers vs. Purdue Boilermakers (the Old Oaken Bucket), Illinois Fighting Ilini vs. Northwestern Wildcats, Wisconsin Badgers vs. Iowa Hawkeyes, Wisconsin Badgers vs. Minnesota Golden Gophers... but all of these historic contests pale before arguably the greatest college football rivalry of all time: Ohio State Buckeyes vs. Michigan Wolverines.

While the record in what is known simply as “The Game” still favors Michigan, in recent years, the Buckeyes have been very successful; since 2001, OSU has won 10 times to UM’s two. (One of Ohio State’s wins, in 2010, was vacated due to NCAA sanctions). With new coaches at the helm for both schools (Brady Hoke at U of M and Urban Meyer at OSU), expect this classic “war” to reach new heights in 2013 and beyond, even while the Big Ten grows ever larger with the planned 2014 addition of two old-line Mid-Atlantic powers, Rutgers (the State University of New Jersey) and Maryland.
© 2000-2015 Razorgator, All Rights Reserved, and logo are trademarks of Razorgator. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Razorgator Use Agreement and Privacy Policy.